Cultural Council



The Mendon Cultural Council is a municipally-appointed committee whose purpose is to promote cultural activities and events within Mendon and surrounding communities for the enrichment of its residents.  The primary focus of the Mendon Cultural Council is to provide state-funded grants to individuals and groups involved in the arts, humanities and interpretive sciences. 

The Mendon Cultural Council is part of a network of 329 Local Cultural Councils (LCC) serving all 351 cities and towns in the Commonwealth. The LCC Program is the largest grassroots cultural funding network in the nation, supporting thousands of community-based projects. The state legislature provides an annual appropriation to the Massachusetts Cultural Council, the state agency, which then allocates funds to each community. Every year, local councils award grants to more than 5000 cultural programs statewide.
LCCs consist of at least five but no more than twenty-two volunteer members

Information on the Massachusetts Cultural Council is available at:

Click here to email the Cultural Council

Board Members

Name Title
Ellen Gould Chairperson (June 2020)
Shannon Elliott Treasurer/Finance (June 2022)
Tina Jankauskas Publicity (June 2020
Marlys Jarstfer Secretary (June 30, 2021)
Michael Fater Member (June 2020)
Sue Rousseau Member (June 30, 2021)