## SELECT BOARD

20 Main Street, Mendon, MA 01756 Tel: 508-473-2312 Fax: 508-478-8241

Notice of Meeting
June 29, 2020
6:00 PM
Virtual Meeting

Board Members
Christopher Burke, Chairman
Mark W. Reil Jr.
Lawney Tinio

<u>Join Microsoft Teams Meeting</u> +1 347-467-1434

Conference ID: 963 516 649#

# <u>BOS</u> Meetina Minutes

At 6:03 PM a remote Select Board meeting was called to order. Present: Chris Burke, Mark Reil, Lawney Tinio, Kim Newman and Laura St. John Dupuis.

Mr. Tinio read the introduction to the meeting. Mr. Burke provided the ground rules and stated that each vote would be conducted by roll call vote.

### **Select Board Reorganization**

Mr. Tinio made a motion to nominate Mark Reil as Select Board Chair. Step down second by Mr. Burke. The motion passed unanimously.

Roll Call Vote: Burke-Aye, Reil-Aye, Tinio-Aye.

# **Consider Non Union COLA**

Mr. Tinio made a motion to authorize FY21 COLA of 2% for Non-Union Employees. Second by Mr. Burke. The motion passed unanimously.

Roll Call Vote: Burke-Aye, Reil-Aye, Tinio-Aye.

## **Consider Call Fire Rates**

Mr. Tinio made a motion to authorize the following increase in rates for On Call Fire Fighters and Per Diem EMTs, A 2% COLA increase. Second by Mr. Burke. The motion passed unanimously.

Roll Call Vote: Burke-Aye, Reil-Aye, Tinio-Aye.

- On-call firefighter increase to \$15.30 hr.
- On-call Lieutenant increase to \$16.32 hr.
- Per diem EMT-Basic increase to \$16.32 hr.
- Per diem EMT-Paramedic increase to \$25.50 hr.

### **Consider Agreement with Dispatch**

Mr. Tinio made a motion to sign the Memorandum of Agreement between the Town of Mendon and the Mendon Dispatch Union, MCOP. Second by Mr. Burke. The motion passed unanimously.

Roll Call Vote: Burke-Aye, Reil-Aye, Tinio-Aye.

### **Consider IMA with Metacomet Emergency Communications Center**

Mr. Simon Vandervalk addressed the Board asking when had the Board discussed joining Metacomet as he has been attending Select Board meetings over the last 4 or 5 months and has not seen this topic on any of the Board Agenda's. Mr. Vandervalk stated that he felt this deal that was not shared with the public. Mr. Reil assured Mr. Vandervalk that the Board had discussed Metacomet in open session and in Executive Session and that the Board and the dispatch union had just bargained a successful agreement on Thursday, June 25th. Mr. Vandervalk felt this dealt was done behind closed. Mr. Reil reiterated that this agreement was just reach in negotiations with the dispatch union.

Mr. Tinio made a motion to sign the agreement by and among the towns of Franklin, Mendon, Millville, Norfolk, Plainville, and Wrentham for a regional public safety communications and dispatch center know as, Metacomet Emergency Communications Center (MECC). Second by Mr. Burke. The motion passed unanimously.

Roll Call Vote: Burke-Aye, Reil-Aye, Tinio-Aye.

# Consider the Appointment of Steve Laporta as a Reserve/Detail Officer

Mr. Tinio made a motion to appoint Steve Laporta as a Reserve/Detail Officer. Second by Mr. Burke. The motion passed unanimously.

Roll Call Vote: Burke-Aye, Reil-Aye, Tinio-Aye.

# **Discuss Upcoming Meeting Dates**

7/9/20 will be the next Select Board meeting.

### **Prepare for ATM**

### 7 PM Attend Annual Town Meeting at Miscoe Hill School Football Field-

The Board of Selectmen attended the Annual Town Meeting, which was held in the Miscoe Hill School Auditorium due to poor weather conditions outdoors

# Other Topics Not Reasonably Anticipated 48 hours prior to Meeting \*\*\*

Consider the request of Bay State Trail Riders Request to hold their annual Poker Ride out of Inman Hill Road Sunday, July 12th 8AM – 4 PM.

Mr. Tinio made a motion to approve Bay State Trail Riders Request to hold their annual Poker Ride out of Inman Hill Road Sunday, July 12<sup>th</sup> 8AM – 4 PM. Second by Mr. Burk. The motion passed unanimously.

Roll Call Vote: Burke-Aye, Reil-Aye, Tinio-Aye.

### Adjournment

Mr. Tinio made a motion to adjourn at the conclusion of Annual Town Meeting. Second by Mr. Burke. The motion passed unanimously.

Roll Call Vote: Burke-Aye, Reil-Aye, Tinio-Aye.

Submitted by Laura St. John Dupuis