MEANS-TESTED REAL ESTATE
PROPERTY TAX EXEMPTION

Taxation Aid Committee



WHAT PROBLEM ARE WE TRYING TO
SOLVE!?

Studies by various federal and state government agencies and private groups
(Massachusetts Council on Aging, AARP, etc.) all agree it is better to have
senior citizens (those age 65 and older) “age in place” — that is, remain in their
homes.

But, seniors across Massachusetts are having difficulty coping with rising
property valuations and rising property tax bills.

And, existing property tax exemptions for seniors ($257.85 to $1,000) don’t
offer adequate relief. (Average property tax bill for those currently receiving
senior exemption is $5,385.21 this fiscal year.)




OUR GOAL

Provide Mendon’s senior homeowners with a method of property tax
relief that is:

Easy to understand
Easy to provide
Easy to administer

Easy to apply for




WHAT DOES “MEANS-TESTED” MEAN?

Applying some type of criteria to measure the sum of a person’s assets
to determine if he or she qualifies for a tax exemption.

It’s nothing new. Many of the property tax exemptions available under
Massachusetts General Laws require applicants to meet certain criteria,
such as age, property ownership, income, length of residence in town, etc.



DO OTHER COMMUNITIES OFFER THIS?

Yes.

More than a dozen communities in Massachusetts have sought and
obtained special legislation to establish a mean-tested real estate
property tax exemption.

There is no “standard” method for the exemption. Each community has
designed its own method of offering it.




HOW IS MENDON DOING IT?

By comparing and contrasting the ways other communities are doing it,
we’ve been able to find a model used by Concord and Hopkinton that

meets all 4 parts of our goal:

Piggy-backing on the state’s successful Senior Circuit Breaker Income
Tax Credit.

This tax credit is based on the actual real estate taxes paid on your
principal residence.

00 Mendon residents received this credit in calendar year 2018.



HOW DOES THE CIRCUIT BREAKER
INCOME TAX CREDIT WORK?

The Massachusetts Department of Revenue has information at:

https://www.mass.gov/service-details/senior-circuit-breaker-tax-credit

https://www.mass.gov/technical-information-release/tir-20- | 4-annual-
update-of-real-estate-tax-credit-for-certain-persons




WHAT WE’RE PROPOSING

Mendon voters approve asking state legislature to approve a “home
rule” petition establishing the local exemption

If signed into law, Mendon voters would re-authorize it every three years

Use the Circuit Breaker eligibility requirements as the “means test”
requirements for Mendon’s exemption.

People apply each year, just like other exemptions




WHAT WE’RE PROPOSING (CONT’D)

Select Board decides each year to base local exemption on a range of 50% to
200% of the Circuit Breaker Tax Credit

All of Mendon’s homeowners share the total cost of providing the exemption




WHAT WOULD IT COST ME?

If in place now, and 100 people received the exemption, the average Mendon
residential taxpayer ($446,000 valuation) would pay an additional $26.76 (at
50%) to $98.12 (at 200%) on their annual property tax bill.

Cost per $1,000 of assessed value in Fiscal Year 2021:
50% of Circuit Breaker = 6 cents
100% of Circuit Breaker =11 cents
150% of Circuit Breaker = 17 cents

200% of Circuit Beaker = 22 cents




HOW MUCH EXEMPTION WOULD A
MENDON SENIOR RECEIVE!?

Income Tax Year 2020 circuit breaker credit maximum = $1,150

At 50%-200%, local exemption ranges from $575 to $2,300

Combine with the circuit breaker credit of $1,150 and you have from
$1,727 to $3,350 available to offset property taxes

Seniors get income tax credit even if they lack enough income to file a state
income tax return. State sends them a check, versus a credit on taxes due.




DO | GET A SAY IN THIS?

Yes. Mendon’s voters get to approve this program as follows:
You vote to ask the state legislature to enact a home rule petition

Once it is in place, you vote every three yeas at Annual Town Meeting whether to
continue it




WHY SPREAD IT ACROSS ALL
RESIDENTIAL TAXPAYERS?

Tax abatements and exemptions are paid for out of the “Assessors’ Overlay “
account.

This account is funded by taxpayers and the cost of it is included in your tax bills
Now.

Funding the means-tested exemption would mean increasing the overlay account
substantially. Under the Proposition 21/2 tax cap, doing that would mean less money
is available to fund all other town services.

Allocating the means-tested exemption’s cost across all residential taxpayers means
that funding for town services is not affected and that residents know the true cost
of providing this exemption.




WHAT’'S THE SCHEDULE FOR THIS?

March, 202 1: Select Board votes to put article on Annual Town Meeting
warrant

May, 202 |: Mendon voters say “Yes” at Annual Town Meeting

June, 2021 — June, 2022: State Legislature considers and approves home
rule petition; Governor Baker signs it into law

August, 2022: Assessors take first applications for exemptions




SCHEDULE (CONT’D)

September; 2022: Assessors evaluate applications
October, 2022: Select Board approves percentage for exemption

November, 2022: Select Board holds annual Property Tax Classification
Hearing (when Fiscal Year 2023 tax rate is known)

December, 2022: MTREPTE is applied to FY 2023 third-quarter
“actual” tax bills




DOES IT MEET OUR GOAL!?

Easy to understand

Based on Senior Circuit Breaker Income Tax Credit

Easy to provide

Cost applied across all residential property owners




DOES IT MEET OUR GOAL? (CONT’D)

Easy to administer
Assessors treat like any other exemption
Select Board has one extra vote each year

Assessors have one extra calculation for Classification Hearing

Easy to apply for

A simple application form and the same paperwork used to apply for
the state’s Circuit Breaker income tax credit




SUGGESTION

“Means-Tested Real Estate Property Tax Exemption” (MTREPTE) is a mouthful.

How about calling it “METER” to keep up electrical “Circuit Breaker” analogy
going?




